More Efforts/Thoughts for Classroom Management

Today I tried to talk to my difficult classes to restate my values and classroom expectations.  While I was able to successfully run the lab in my 3rd block class, my 4th block class was more unruly than usual and may now be my most difficult class.  They were never able to do the lab and some students are actively defiant, while others just seem to not care and are willing to talk over me and the other students in the class.  I’ve been thinking about a lot of different ways to approach this, and have watched some videos, but I keep coming back to the same idea of wanting engagement not just complacency.  I wonder if it might be worthwhile to really try to engage the most difficult students in reflecting on how they feel when students talk while they present.  It might be dangerous, but I feel like no discipline strategy will truly be successful in engaging the student in proper behavior unless it results from their own wants and needs.  In short, I think I want them to get fed up, pissed off, and outright mad when students talk over them.  I want them to realize that they have value, and what they say has value, and that any student who talks over them is saying that they don’t value them.  I’m not sure if this is a good route to explore and I’ll definitely try to talk to other people before encouraging this, but I just can’t get the thought out of my head.

Leave a Reply

